Sunday, August 16, 2020

20th Century Fucks

Mayor DiBlasio - You are hurting this city.  You have hurt this city. I don't know the pissing match you have with Cuomo but you are hurting this city, sir.  You should be uniting this city and you are not.  The NYPD endorsed a presidential candidate for the first time since "anyone can remember" is not entirely on your hands. That's been brewing for a century.  The racism.  The institutional brutality.  The family calling of policing as a family legacy.  Nobody in my fucking family is like "I'll do Human Resources."  A family of blue bloods...isn't necessarily a good thing but America hasn't woken up to the fact that nepotism breeds corruption.  But you and the governor had a chance to come together and for whatever reason you are just breeding negativity and divide.  I can live with the fact that as a white man i have never experienced even just a tiny, tiny minor taste of the amount of power the NYPD and the Federal Reserve Policy feel that they can leverage on black lives however i understand the "power without borders" mentality while almost getting run over by them as a pedestrian Downtown near John and Nassau streets.  I don't think it had anything to do with my skin color.  Apparently - they don't have to yield to pedestrians at a STOP sign.  STOP for them meant go.  And when I expressed my displeasure at an NYPD car with a middle finger...they hit their siren.  And my white ass messenger bag carrying self was able to walk away because it wasn't worth it to them.  They let me go because I walked away.  Others get much worse.  i know it's because i look over 40 and white.  You have barricades across City Hall Park.  For a period of time - some dickhead decided it was best to extend them to the disallow people to walk on the sidewalk.  So if you had to cross Park Row to get to Broadway - you had to walk in the fucking street.  Families, elderly...while the NYPD stood mask-less and just watched.  Someone white with money must have complained because you are now allowed to walk no part of the sidewalk.  Walk around mask-less NYPD officers.  i can live with all this.  i can.  i get it.  i have some racist family members who were police officers.  I know they exist.  and they were fucking stupid in life.  and worried on their deathbeds about i don't know their fucking fate.  I can live with going to an ATM and taking out a hundred dollars in 1's and 5's to hand out to people who are hungry or jonesing for fucking fix and just need to feel better.  I'll fucking do that.  I've changed my behavior somewhat.  I just can't stop waiting for someone else to tell you that you are not a fucking politician all the fucking time.  cut the bullshit and fucking start helping.  find the helpers.  in the NYPD.  in the homeless proponents.  black lives.  LGBTQ lives.  find the fucking helpers.  or get the fuck out.  


Open City Hall fucking park too.  Keep the NYPD but open the fucking park.  I fucking LIVE down there and THAT is my park.  That is my comfort.  THAT IS MY FUCKING FOUNTAIN TO BEAR WITNESS TOO.  It's not closed because of COVID.  It's closed because BLACK LIVES don't MATTER.  that's fucking hard to take.


Do Something.

Andrew t. Stankovits. 


Friday, July 24, 2020

Gimme a minute - Part 1

There's a ringing in my ears : My eyes stinging with tears
I race to the seaside - my place of peace: all i feel is panic and a dreadful unease
Try to keep it serene: BAU for the company video screen
Gotta still earn my bread and get to bed : gotta keep myself fed but still the dread
I'm sticking sand in the sacks:  Cementing all the cracks
Keeping people's chins up  (smile!):  Tell them it's 1/2 filled cups (meanwhile!)
Buy into delusional goals : Gonna thrive and save some lowly souls
Going to be stronger than ever : gonna run, eat, work, sleep more than never
I'm putting on my emergency gear : mask and gloves and facing the fear
Gathering family their food and I think: I'm keeping everyone from the brink.

"I can't breathe."  George Perry Floyd Jr. said "I can't breathe."
He was 46 years old : When the nation began to seethe.
We are the same generation : Albeit one with segregation.
I imagine simple things we felt common, agreed on too.
I also understand though by and large the opposite is true.

And here's where the story takes a turn.
I crashed and burned.
Suddenly I'm waking up in the morning.
And I'm in mourning.
I'm just in mourning.
I'm just in mourning.
I'm just in mourning.

The sun rises.
The cursor blinks.
The news blares.
And the sun goes up and down.
Repeat,  Rinse. Repeat.
























Amen, AOC

Blazing the trail. 1920: Women (with some but few male allies) bravely fought for the right for women (mostly white) to vote in a national election. Black women were also legally entitled by the 19th Amendment to vote by but were denied those voting rights in many Southern states until 1965 (and beyond...) through various barriers and with full consent of the governments and those who governed those Southern states (and let’s face it...likely in ALL states.) Faced with intimidation, verbal and physical assault - it was often life or death to vote. Or just safer physically and mentally not to. 2020: So hearing Rep Ted Yoho (R-FL) verbally assault and intimidate AOC made me think about what its must felt like, feel like for these women who have to stand up all the time. Stand up to threats, anger and intimidation. Stand up. Instead of standing shoulder to shoulder without searching for the next threat. Instead of rightly taking the seat you so well-deserve. The seat you fought for and won. I hear you. I’m listening. I’ll fight alongside you. And women - black, white, trans...if you respect people, science, economics, and public education and believe in taking care of our veterans. Black Live Matter, LGBTQ 🏳️‍🌈 rights and civil rights...I will vote for you.

Monday, April 6, 2020

The COVID Monologues: April 6

Worked all day standing up at my stand up desk.  Definitely need to wear my sneakers but it held up well.



Breakfast: Eat cereal with almond milk, blueberries, strawberries and coffee with 1%. Also had a banana too!
For lunch: Wrap with veggie burger, banana with PBFit, an avocado.  Didn't eat the PBFIt but added a tomato and a slice of thin cheese to the wrap.  Also had some carrots.  
Dinner: Leftover grilled steak, shrimp, kale salad with other 1/2 of potato,  red potato.

Exercise:  I stood all day.  Plus i ran 3.7 miles today.  

Tomorrow:
Breakfast: Cereal with almond milk, blueberries, strawberries and coffee with 1%.
Lunch: I think i will go back to soup with (lentil or vegetable) and maybe some ricotta toast.
I will also have a banana.
Snack: Apple
Dinner: BATTS  Bacon Avocado Turkey Tomato Sandwich with red potato salad (boiled, chilled with EVOO S&P).

Exercise: I'd like to pivot back to Monday but add bent over rows and side planks.

  • I did high knee kicks.
  • I did 3x10 pushups
  • I did a bunch of 1-2 punches swiveling each side (maybe like 2 sets of 20?)
  • 3x25 sit-ups with a heavy object in hands that extends all the way past head
  • I did 3x20 squats while using a full laundry bottle to do a press up
  • I did 6X20 rotating straight front arm raises and straight side arm raises
  • I did 3X15 bicep curls with said laundry bottle
  • I did some cat and (cow?) stretches
  • I did down dog and the one where you sit you ass on your heels and stretch
  • I did like the push up position where you raise your leg up (2x20 each side) in the air to work your ass.
  • Side planks
  • Bent over rows
It was mostly a pleasant day.  And much needed because it's been awhile!
Good night ocean, good night God.  Good night loves, good night stars.  Good night cats, Good night dogs.  Good night cousins and cousins in law.  Good night ghosts, good night ghouls.  Good night friends and family, I miss you the most.  Good night bay, good night gulls.  Good night foxes, good night ducks.  Good night.

Sunday, April 5, 2020

The COVID MONOLOGUES: April 5

I'm sheltering in place by myself (for now!) at a small, seasonal town at the Jersey Shore during the global pandemic.



I woke up really early this morning and made the mistake of looking at some news.

I threw the phone away and went back to bed until like 845am.

BREAKFAST
I woke up and not sure exactly the order but I made some pour-over coffee and reheated some frittatas that were going on their way out.
I used the oven to heat the eggs and to toast a slice of bread.

I sing a lot too.

Today - I assembled the standing desk work station that i ordered from amazon.  i did it in 90 minutes without cursing or crying.

I vacuumed and cleaned the entire tiny house (except for the bedrooms) and swept and Swiffer'd the floors.  Took about two hours but also did some stuff outside like sweep the patio and put the patio furniture together outside.

LUNCH: For lunch, I ate a banana, an apple, and some grapes.  And a cup of coffee. (Pourover.)

There's no dishwasher here so I'm always doing dishes.  It's kinda therapeutic.

I had a lot of cardboard to recycle so i broke all that down outside.

i had a leftover roast chicken bones that i used to make a slow cooker chicken stock with (just drained it and will fridge it and skim the fat tomorrow.)

EXERCISE:


  • I did high knee kicks.
  • I did 3x10 pushups
  • I did a bunch of 1-2 punches swiveling each side (maybe like 2 sets of 20?)
  • 3x25 sit-ups with a heavy object in hands that extends all the way past head
  • I did 3x20 squats while using a full laundry bottle to do a press up
  • I did 6X20 rotating straight front arm raises and straight side arm raises
  • I did 3X15 bicep curls with said laundry bottle
  • I did some cat and (cow?) stretches
  • I did down dog and the one where you sit you ass on your heels and stretch
  • I did like the push up position where you raise your leg up (2x20 each side) in the air to work your ass.
There was some junk on the side of the house from a back door that was recently installed that i organized and threw away - jersey style - with someone else's junk!


I also walked on the beach for like 20 minutes.

DINNER:  I took some olive oil, garlic, and lemon juice in a little pot and heated it on low.  I put some crinkle cut french fries in the oven, took some kale, garlic, olive oil and lemon juice and heated it up in a cast iron skillet.  i added butter (unsalted, not a lot) to the pot and added two filets of cod (maybe 6oz?) and tossed them around on all sides for some minutes.  I shook out the kale into a bowl and added some ripped fresh mozzarella.

I had some Jay Lohr Cabernet.

Tonight i did some laundry and showered.  I also gave myself a tiny haircut around my ears.

I shared a video Debi Mazar posted about NY during corona.

I did dishes.

I filtered the chicken stock.

I've talked to Tony and Teddy and texted with Christine, Julie, Kris, Dave, Sara among others.

I'm writing myself a journal.

I felt good today.  Much better than the day before.  Much, much better than the day before that!

My plan for tomorrow is to:

Say good morning to the beach

Wake up and do some type of exercise (maybe 20 minutes of a run or walking weather permitting.
Work (a lot)
B: Eat cereal with almond milk, blueberries, strawberries and coffee with 1%.
For lunch: Wrap with veggie burger, banana with PBFit, an avocado
Dinner: Leftover grilled steak, shrimp, spinach salad, maybe a red potato.

EXERCISE GOALS


  • 30 minute run
  • Bent over rows
  • Side planks
  • Pull ups on beach bar?
  • I did high knee kicks.
  • I did 3x10 pushupsI did a bunch of 1-2 punches swiveling each side (maybe like 2 sets of 20?)


Say goodnight to the beach.

(Organize and clean the bedrooms.)

Good night.  Love Wins.


Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Requiem for the Days Gone By

I was talking on my iPhone with my friend for, shit, like almost 30 years about her vacation.  She and her family (mother, brothers, sister-in-law, bunch of kids) met at a cabin in the Catskills for a little family R&R that severely limited technology.  At first, she said, it was a little anxious.  "We were just going to stare at each other."

But as they got used to not looking at a screen or texting in acronyms...they got more comfortable with the thought of "reading a book, building a fire and looking at it."  She said she got a bit romantic and weepy at the fact that she used to live that way.

It struck a chord.

So did I.  I used to live that way.

This is not a "get off my lawn" rant about the days of old which also included horrible treatment and rhetoric of blacks, Hispanics, women, LGBTQA...oh wait...that is still a thing.  It's not to put down any generation (well maybe the Baby Boomers.  It's my parents generation and I'm kinda conditioned to be oppositional to them.)

No - this is purely a romantic rant about how I loved myself and my friends in the days of yore.

I wrote letters long hand.  Multiple pages of handwritten letters to my friends.  All over the country.  All over the world.  And they wrote me back.  And you had the time to do it.  And i think it was an act of love. Of showing empathy and sharing your truth by writing your friends letters.  I get a little confused about being the push to be an authentic self because for so long I bared my souls in those letters.  Not all of them were soulful or dramatic or anything.  But they were my truth.

I made collages and wrote poems and crafted stories.  Sometimes long-hand and sometimes on a Brother Word Processor.  I still have a bunch of them in a storage container in my closet.  Every now and then (usually when i'm moving homes) I will whip them out and think "this strange, curious, creative kid."  And I feel a twinge of who i was at the time.

In college, I regularly studied at a Victorian house in Highland Park, NJ that was converted into a coffee shop.  And not a Starbucks coffee shop.  And pre-hipster.  Like some former hippie who traveled through Europe in the 70's and 80's came into money and just opened up a place where people could go to have coffee, do poetry reads and trade/buy used books.  Local art hung on the walls.  Starbucks was a galaxy away.  I would go there and drink a gallon of coffee and just write or study or goof off and chain smoke (vape this, poser! JK.  Don't smoke.  It's gross. I quit years ago but it was freaking hard.  I miss smoking.)  It's not there anymore.  But it was exactly the place i needed for that time in my life.

Films.  Cinema.  I don't remember much about television during my late high school/college years.  I watched some things but if felt periodic.  It was pretty much "Friends" and "Seinfeld" and "Melrose Place."  White people in metro cities.  But films were where you went to see some diversity, some cool masters of craft.  Stories that just blew your mind in how they were carefully crafted.  Yes, there was Blockbuster Video and HBO where you could watch these films at home but to go to the movies to see a film was such a treat.  I think about the Erik Theater in Princeton, the old General Cinemas in Somerset, NJ.  And (I pray it still exists) the Montgomery Theater in NJ that played indie movies.  Pulp Fiction, Bound, Lost Highway, Crooklyn, Shawshank, Dead Man Walking, Fargo.  Freaking Fargo forever changed my life.

Strangers.  You had to talk to them.  To ask how for directions on how to get to the movie theater.  Oh and you had to call the movie theater to get showtime information.  Or you had to walk or drive to the store to buy the daily newspaper.  And talk to a stranger who sold you the newspaper.

If you wanted to murder someone, you had to go to the library and understand how to navigate the Dewey Decimal system.

If you wanted to date someone outside of your immediate circle, you needed to figure out how to navigate the personal ads of your local newspaper or newspaper of choice and send actual letters to a PO Box to get connected to someone.

If you needed to talk to a friend urgently and you were not at home, you needed to talk to a stranger to break a dollar so you could phone them on a pay phone.  If you made plans to meet a friend in Union Square on Sunday at 7pm you had to show up.

When you made plans to travel on a plane to meet your friend in Amsterdam, you better damn well have connected ahead of time to ensure you all knew the deal because your plane tickets used to arrive in the mail!  You couldn't forward it.

Shit, the culture just traveled at a different pace.  Bands, trends, fashion all cascaded around at a different pace.  Television was the internet of it's day.

Today?  We are humans.  We adapt to change.  But we have growing pains and all change is not good.  Instantaneous is not always the answer for everything.  Our gut reaction sometimes is wrong.  Sometimes it is tied to that innate fight/flight response.  We haven't figured through the mechanics of everything.  Maybe I had a bad day and I wrote a long, inappropriate letter one night.  The next morning, I could re-read it before I send.  Today the ballgame is different and we will adapt.  But I still miss these old days.

When your heart would flutter a bit when you went to you mailbox and saw a fat envelope from someone you loved.  And you would make it a thing to go to your bed and put on a CD (or vinyl because you still had a record player and not for the purpose of being retro...because you had a hand-me-down record player) and rip open a letter from your friend.  and you felt loved and you felt love.  in a way that i don't feel today.

But maybe that solution lies with me.  I can still pick up a pen.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Love your neighbor.  They are veterans, lesbians, gays, transgendered, bisexual, allies, questioning, black, hispanic, muslim, middle eastern, christian, atheists, autistic, bipolar, depressed, police officers, teachers, too highly paid, too underpaid, sick with cancer, people who say mean things because they are scared, racist, sexist, haven't worked things out yet, don't mean what they say but have other things going on, new mothers, new fathers, newly single, single parents, addicted, stressed, responsible, irresponsible, made a mistake on social media, immigrants, legal immigrants, illegal immigrants, democrats, republicans, gun owners, gun hoarders, gun regulation proponents, victims of gun violence, women who were sexually harassed, men who were sexually harassed, bullies, bullied, people who hate ice cream, people who love ice cream, born with Down Syndrome, can't get over the death of a child, lonely, in everybody's business, are lovely in person but tweet mean, have had a violent act committed against them, committed a violent act against someone, never left the state they live in, traveled the world, believe their religion triumphs over all and others, believes their religion is part of collective, can't escape the shadow of their father or mother, doesn't appreciate where there family came from.

It seems clear today: all lives don't matter.  So we need to work on a few things.   Like setting up a world where all of our selves, friends, family, and neighbors have an equal playing field regardless of the job they play or the "race" or "religion" or "gender" or "label" they assign to plays in how we treat each other.

Love my neighbor.  I'm trying.




Monday, December 16, 2013

Please Mr Kennedy

Best Cat in a Motion Picture
I've been feeling mournful,  cynical, angry, creepy, weepy, fazed, cranky and indescribable. All at once.  I haven't been able to put my finger on a way to capture this sort of malaise.  Or prescribe a cure or diagnose a cause.  Usual suspects.  A challenging (read shitty) year.

And then I saw Inside Llewyn Davis.  A film by the Coen Brothers.  That's it.  That's me right now.  For now.  Only I'm not a folk singer in 1961 in the Village.  But what a piece of work.  That movie impressed the shit out of me.  I might dare say it delighted.  Visually it was so appealing.  There's a scene with a cat in a car on the side of the highway and i swear there needs to be a Best Performance by an Animal or something.  This cat would win for sure.

The look is right on.  The songs are right and the story is something that you would never, ever think of capturing together.  It's sweet, bitter, sad, funny, and weird.  Such as life.

It's not for everyone.  The Coen Brothers have this affection subtle madcap lunacy that comes from left field.  (Think Mike meeting up with the Chief at the Sheraton in the Twin Cities...)

















Go see this movie.  And then when it comes out on DVD go see Enough Said. Gravity is still playing in the movies.  Go see it.  Not for Sandra Bullock or Gregory Hines (he's not even in it!)  But this is the director behind Children of Men who directed a seamless continuous shot that still manages to take my breath away.  Warning: Graphic.

Also see What Maisie Knew.  It made me want to be a better parent and I don't have any kids.

Watch this clip below and you will be saying "Uh oh!" in your head all day.